Fightin’ Crabs


Fightin’ Crabs Schedule:

2018 TSL Remaining Schedule – revised 7/6/18

  •  Start
  • vs Virginia Beach Waves
  • Home: Virginia Wesleyan
  • Postseason Game

Tournament Format: Round Robin Bracket Play, followed by semi-finals and Championship.



All 11 teams have been drawn into 4 brackets (3 teams in 3 brackets, 2 teams in one bracket).

Bracket A: Legends, Sea Monsters, Daredevils;

Bracket B: Shredders, Hawks, Knights;

Bracket C: Fightin’ Crabs, Suns, Waves;

Bracket D: Voyagers, Seagulls;

Each bracket will play a round robin format, with each team playing the other two teams in their bracket. The team with the best record will advance from each bracket.*

*in the event of a tie, runs allowed will be the tie breaker. If runs allowed is used to break a three way tie, and two teams have the same runs allowed, then head to head results between those two clubs will break that tie.

The four teams who advance from bracket play will meet in head to head competition in our semi final games, with the winners advancing to the Postove Cup Championship game.

Thur 5-Jul
RR Game 1 Fightin’ Crabs – 2 Suns – 3 1:00pm VWU completed
RR Game 2 Voyagers Seagulls 3:00pm LW rescheduled for Sat
RR Game 3 Shredders – 11 Hawks – 1 3:00pm LW completed
RR Game 4 Legends – 0 Sea Monsters – 18 6:00pm LW completed
Fri 6-Jul
RR Game 6 Suns – 4 Waves – 7 1:00pm VWU completed
RR Game 7 Sea Monsters Daredevils 4:00pm VWU rescheduled for Sun
RR Game 8 – susp Seagulls (1 – 2nd inn)  Voyagers (3 – 2nd inn) 3:00pm LW susp. Resched for Sun
RR Game 5 Hawks Knights 6:00pm LW rescheduled for Sun
Sat 7-Jul
RR Game 9 Waves Fightin’ Crabs 1:00pm VWU
RR Game 11 Knights Shredders 4:00pm VWU
RR Game 2 Voyagers Seagulls 3:00pm LW
RR Game 10 Daredevils Legends 6:00pm LW
Sun 8-Jul
RR Game 8 – complete suspended game Seagulls Voyagers 1:00pm VWU
RR Game 7 Sea Monsters Daredevils 4:00pm VWU
RR Game 5 Hawks Knights 3:00pm LW
Mon 9-Jul
Semi-Finals Gm 1 Bracket C Winner Bracket D Winner 1:00pm VWU
Semi-Finals Gm 2 Bracket A Winner Bracket B Winner 4:00pm VWU
Tue 10-Jul
Championship SF Gm 1 Winner SF Gm 2 Winner 2:00pm VWU



Virginia Wesleyan University

5817 Wesleyan Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23455


Lakewood Park

1612 Willow Wood Drive, Norfolk, VA 23509


Trant Field

586 N. Lynnhaven Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23452



Player Name Position College Attending Class
Cole Gilbert OF/2B Virginia Wesleyan University Rookie
Edwin Delgado OF/2B Cleary University Junior
Michael Whalen OF/2B St. Josephs University Fresh
Jarett Gonzales C/3B/SS Grayson Junior College Fresh
Reilly Workman C/1B/OF SUNY Brockport Soph
Jacob Wyeth C/1B/OF Baylor University Fresh
Brayden Barnes 1B/OF Jackson State Community College Fresh
Mason Falbo 1B/OF Centre College Junior
Jamar Bray 1B/OF/3B Cleary University Junior
Joe Lucas 3B/1B/OF Embry Riddle Soph
James Gonzales SS/2B/3B Univ. of Mary Hardin Baylor Fresh
Michael Tito SS/2B Clarkson University Fresh
Samuel Ross 2B/1B West Virginia Weslyean College Soph
Ricky Miller 2B/SS/RHP Roger Williams University Rookie
Jesse Carlos Garcia LHP Baylor University Fresh
Nathan Valentine LHP SUNY Brockport Fresh
Shaun O’Reilly RHP Albright College Soph
Jim Nixon RHP Harfod CC Fresh
Tyler Morgan LHP Norfolk State University Soph
Braden Gilbert RHP Wesley College Rookie
Trevor Saniano RHP Bryant & Stratton College Rookie


Head Coach – Nick Giaquinto (Sacred Heart Univ.)

Nick is entering his 29th year as Head Coach of northeast power Division I Sacred Heart University.  The Pioneers have reached the Northeast Conference championship game 7 years in a row and have won their conference title 4 times and advanced to the NCAA Division I regional tournament.  Giaquinto has garnered many coaching accolades during his tenure at Sacred Heart including Coach of the Year Honors multiple times.  He has had numerous Sacred Heart players drafted into professional baseball during his coaching career as well.  As a player, Nick actually played in the NFL for four years from 1980-83 for the Miami Dolphins and Washington Redskins and won a Super Bowl with the Redskins in 1983. 


Asst. Coach: Franklin Miller



Become a fan of


Collegiate Summer Wood Bat Baseball League – founded 1946